function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Dave The RaveDave The Rave 

Change field value en-mass using DML

Hi All,

Here is the change I am looking to make:

If fieldA (SortType_C) from CustomObject_C =  BLANK then change value of SortType_C to "Other"

I am a new administrator and learning fast, I managed to access the developer console but I am new to DML.

Can anyone help me with the code?

Thanks,

Dave The Rave
Best Answer chosen by Dave The Rave
AMIT AGRAWAL 5AMIT AGRAWAL 5
Run this code ...

List<RealEstateObject__c> recList = [SELECT Id, SortRealEstate__c FROM RealEstateObject__c WHERE SortRealEstate__c = NULL ];
for (RealEstateObject__c rec : recList) {
rec.SortRealEstate__c = 'Other';
}
update recList;

All Answers

Harpreet On CloudHarpreet On Cloud
Ideally you should use Workflow / Process Builder to handle it without code. But if you want to write code, write code in Trigger (before event)

for (CustomObject__c rec : Trigger.new) {
    if (rec.Sort_Type__c == null) rec.Sort_Type__c = 'Other';
}

Hi Harpreet, thanks for your quick answer.

The reason I am not using workflow or process builder is because they need a trigger like an update to a record or creation of a record to start a process or field change. So I understand (once I have put the real field and object names in the code) I can just past the code into the developer console, click "execute" and it should run the code? (maybe a stupid question, but I am in a learning mode now)
Hi Dave,

I believe that the requirement is to update SortType_C to "Other", everytime this field is left blank. If you go by the developer console that will be a one-time solution which means it will work only when you run the code and this will not be an automated process.