function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Rob SeniorRob Senior 

Replacing hyperlink with javascript functionality

Hi
I am a 1st time poster so apologies if this is the wrong place for this question.
Also I am not that experienced with VF and Apex

Some work was done before I started with the company that uses a Hyperlink formula field with JavaScript in it.  Now Salesforce is stopping this and I am struggling to find a way to replace this functionality.

This is what the current functionality does:

On the case object there is a related list (linking to a custom object).  The Related list shows the "Add Coment" field which is the formula field in question

Related List on the Case object

When you click on the “New Comment” hyperlink it opens a new screen (with some fields pre-populated) that allows a new Case Comment record to be generated that is linked against the specific Journal Entry (and against that specific case):

Screenshot of when the hyperlink is clicked

This is accomplished by the formula/JavaScript building a URL (using multiple custom settings so hardcoding is not required).

The formula in question: