function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Tanner RussellTanner Russell 

Need help with nested queries

I am new to salesforce SOQL and I seem to be having an issue when i try to use nested queries the query i am trying to perform is 

List<Space__c> sp = [Select Name, Suite__c, (Select Name from Location__c), (Select Name from RecordType where Name = 'Commercial') from Space__c];

and i keep getting this error 

Name, Suite__c, (Select Name from Location__c), (Select Name from
                                  ^
ERROR at Row:1:Column:42
Didn't understand relationship 'Location__c' in FROM part of query call. If you are attempting to use a custom relationship, be sure to append the '__r' after the custom relationship name. Please reference your WSDL or the describe call for the appropriate names.

even if i append __r instead of __c i still get the same issue any ideas will help i just need the names out of the 2 related objects
Best Answer chosen by Tanner Russell
Jasper WallJasper Wall
try the below query

select Id,(select Id from Spaces__r) from Location__c

Thanks,
Balayesu

All Answers

Jasper WallJasper Wall
Hi Russell,

in nested query you have to use the child relationship name of the lookup field of that object.
for example, 
 Location is a lookup field of the object Space, just open the details of this lookup field and find the relationship name , suppose itit is "Locations", then your query is like,

List<Space__c> sp = [Select Name, Suite__c, (Select Name from Locations) from Space__c];

Mark it as the best Answer if it helps.

Thanks,
Balayesu

pkpnairpkpnair

You have to provide the right name of your relationship object. There is an easy to find this. 

Logon to https://workbench.developerforce.com/login.php
Click on the Info-->Standard & Custom Objects