function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Viraj MViraj M 

Should i create one object or multiple Contact objects in Saleforce?

Hi,

I am new to salesforce..  

I have contacts list from different Datasources, Should i maintain one object for all and add look up relation of different sources OR i maintain different contact object for different sources. I hope maintaining one Object will not be problem(we used to maintain same in SQL DB)... If any limitations then can anyone please let me know

jigarshahjigarshah
@Viraj, As per my understanding you are trying to consolidate Contact information within your Salesforce CRM instance which flows in from various data sources and are trying to determine the association between the originating Data Source and Contact.

One of the foremost things I recommend and is also a best practice is to use the standard CRM objects (assuming you are using Sales Cloud) i.e. the Contact object in this scenario to store the Contact information.

There are a couple of ways in which you can define this association between a Contact and its originating Data Source which I have listed below.

Approach # 1 - Using Custom Picklist Fields
This is the simplest approach where you can have a custom field of picklist type, let's say Data_Source__c on the Contact object itself populated with all the Data Source names as the available options. You could have the Data source value, set manually through the User Interface or through automations such as a Workflow Field Update or a Process Builder.

Pros