function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Brandon NelsonBrandon Nelson 

APEX Trigger To Update Field Value

APEX Noob here :)

So I found out that I can not use a field of TEXT format when using an EMAIL ALERT. What I did was created a field called "Email" and gave it an EMAIL format. I would like to update this field with the email address based on the name in another field.

Layout:
Case Object: I have a field named: Wealth Planner (This is a lookup field linked on the EMPLOYEES custom object)
Case Object: I have a field named: Email (I would like this field to populate the EMAIL address for Wealth Planner (above) on the EMPLOYEES object)

I just dont know enough APEX to do this yet. Any help????

I hope this make sense.....
Best Answer chosen by Brandon Nelson
GauravGargGauravGarg

Hi Brandon,

Please contact me on skype, we will fix the issue together. 

Thanks,

Gaurav

All Answers

GauravGargGauravGarg
Hi Brandon,

Please create a formula field for "EMAIL" and add formula "wealth_planner__r.email_Address" in this. 

Hope this helps!!!

Thanks,
Gaurav
@GauravGarg I did that the first time and I got the email address over fine, but when I go to do an Email Alert, the option to email that field is not there. Upon reading why it was not there I found out you can t use a formula field in an Email Alert. Also reading I found if you use a EMAIL field the that WILL populate as an option on the Email Alert..... Any thoughts?
GauravGargGauravGarg

Hi Brandon,

Did you tried creating the formula fields as return type "text". Let me know if you still face this issue.

Thanks,

Gaurav

@GauravGarg Yes. I created a formula field with a TEXT output type and for the formula I used  (Wealth_PLanner_New_Field__r.Email__c).