function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Sierra VPSierra VP 

Limits on Batch Apex with Trigger: Will it be 5 or 105?

I'm new to developing and trying to determine if I will get errors thrown in my batch apex code. The purpose is to: upon deactivation of a user (trigger, which I understand isn't best practice but don't know another way the batch can be automatically started w/o checking for deactivated users every night), all of the leads of deactivated user are queried to change the OwnerId to a catchall user. The trick is that one user may have as many as 200,000 leads that need to be updated, hence why I am using batch apex. Two questions:

1. How many batch jobs will be activated with each deactivated user? (I think the answer is one?)

2. Will the batch job be sent to the Flex Queue as 'holding' and then to active, giving the org 105 possible batch jobs to be held/processed at once before throwing errors, or will it bypass Flex Queue, thereby limiting the org to only 5 batch jobs at a time?

I hope my questions make sense, and I appreciate any help. I have spent many hours researching this as a newbie. In case it's relevant, my code is below:

Trigger:

trigger BatchUpdateTrigger2 on User (after update)  {

//Map will keep deactivated users and their Id's, to be used later in batch Apex
	 Map<id, User> DeactivatedUsers = new Map<id, User>();
//Check all users in trigger, first if the IsActive button has been newly changed and if it now says that the user is not active    
for (Integer i=0;i<Trigger.new.size();i++) {

if (Trigger.new[i].IsActive!=Trigger.old[i].IsActive &&
   Trigger.new[i].IsActive == false) {
	DeactivatedUsers.put(Trigger.new[i].Id, Trigger.new[i]);
   }
}
// Make sure that there are users to be processed
if (DeactivatedUsers.size() > 0) {