function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Meagan DiegelmanMeagan Diegelman 

Process Builder and Trigger Issue

I have a process builder that is creating detail records and populating a few fields on creation. I also have an after insert trigger that is firing based on one of the fields that is populated during the record creation in the process builder.  Both function perfectly independently but when a record is created through the process builder that should fire the trigger it does not.  Any ideas or resources would be greatly appreciated since I'm new to triggers?
Best Answer chosen by Meagan Diegelman
Ketankumar PatelKetankumar Patel
Process builder does not fire trigger because the order of execution

Before Trigger --> After Trigger --> Workflow field update --> Before Trigger (One Time) --> After Trigger (One Time) --> Processes.

https://developer.salesforce.com/docs/atlas.en-us.apexcode.meta/apexcode/apex_triggers_order_of_execution.htm

All Answers

Process builder does not fire trigger because the order of execution

Before Trigger --> After Trigger --> Workflow field update --> Before Trigger (One Time) --> After Trigger (One Time) --> Processes.

https://developer.salesforce.com/docs/atlas.en-us.apexcode.meta/apexcode/apex_triggers_order_of_execution.htm
This was selected as the best answer
Meagan DiegelmanMeagan Diegelman
Thanks!  Do you know of any workaround to have a trigger fire after the process builder finished?
Yes there is a way but not through Trigger. In process builder there is an Action "Apex". 
  1. You need to create apex class like below with your logic in it. You must have @InvocableMethod annotation. 
  2. In Process builder Apex Action,  You should select this class and pass your object ids in it.
public class ProcessBuilderApexClass
{
    @InvocableMethod