function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Usha Charles 3Usha Charles 3 

Autoupdate field on Account object

Hello,

I have the below code to update the country field if the state field is filled. I was able to save the trigger but I'm getting the following error while I try to save a record with the state field. I have System Administrator profile & ave Read/Write Access on Account object..

Please let me know where I have gone wrong, I'm an administrator trying to learn Apex.

1 trigger SU on Account (After update, After insert) {
2     for(Account acct : Trigger.new){
3         if (acct.Billing_state__c == 'Karnataka'){
4             acct.Country__c = 'India';
5             Update acct;
6         }
7     }
9 }
10 /** Unsucessful - get this error - Apex trigger SU caused an unexpected exception, contact your administrator: 
11 *SU: execution of AfterInsert caused by: System.FinalException: Record is read-only: Trigger.SU: line 4, column 1
12 **/

Apex trigger SU caused an unexpected exception, contact your administrator: SU: execution of AfterInsert caused by: System.FinalException: Record is read-only: Trigger.SU: line 4, column 1

Thanks,
Usha

Best Answer chosen by Usha Charles 3
pigginsbpigginsb
Hi, Usha.

Because your trigger fires After Insert, After Update, the records in the trigger.new list are read-only. They have already been saved to the database.

In a Before Insert, Before Update trigger, the records are still on their way into the database, and you'll be able to write to the fields inside trigger.new. Another advantage of switching to a Before trigger here is that since the records you want to write to are on their way into the database, you will not need to use an Update statement. You can just write to the record and it continues to the database with it's new value.