function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Paul80304Paul80304 

What Salesforce API Should We Use???

Hi,

I have been using Salesforce the app now for about three months and really like it.  I am also a application developer and to be honest, I'm a bit overwhelmed by all the various development tools that have coalesced around Salesforce.  To date I have successfully leveraged the Web Services API from a local C# application we have.  That was very straightforward, etc.  Over the last several days I have been working with Apex from the new, 3.3 Eclipse + Force.com toolkit.  I now have a good example of a trigger that calls a class that updates a Lead.  I have also built the required Unit Tests for deployment into our production environment. 

Next, I was hoping to use Visual Force for some GUI development, but it’s looking like these features are not commercially available yet.  So, then I start looking at s-controls, AJAX, JavaScript and my head explodes.  My question is this…where are all these API’s going?  When should we use Apex over all the technology surrounding s-controls?  It would be soooo helpful to see an API map that shows all the various options and when to use one over another.  I’m definitely suffering from the newbie syndrome, but others have to be hitting this info overload as well.

Can someone please help me understand when to use one API over another???  Something that is current???

Thanks,

-P

RickyGRickyG
Paul -

First, a small correction on nomenclature.  We only have one API to the Force.com platform, which is the Web Services API.  Apex code is not really an API, but rather a way to do procedural extensions to native applications, and Visualforce leverages the power of Apex, along with a set of HTML tags.