function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
SelchSelch 

Hyperlink to create event

I'm new at this, so please be patient.

I've been reading other threads about creating a hyperlink, using an image for a button, and I'm having problems implementing this. Here's what I'm trying to do: I have a custom object called Change Management. I'd like to create a button/hyperlink that when clicked adds this record to a shared calendar. When it creates the event on the calendar it needs to use a custom field in Change Management for start date/time and end date/time. Can anyone show me the way?

Thanks much
MKPartners.comMKPartners.com
I'm not sure I quite understand your configuration.  But in general, your custom link should be the url for the edit screen of your new record.  So if you were trying to create a new event, your url would be:
/00U/e?

You can then pass through values to fields on that edit form.  You'll need to know the id's of the fields on the form, you can get that by viewing the page source or using the Web Developer extension in firefox.

If you explain your scenario a little more, I might be able to give you a more detailed url

Message Edited by MKPartners.com on 10-19-2006 01:33 PM

SelchSelch
Here's more detail on what I'm trying to do:

I have a custom object called Change Management. Change Management has a date/time field for both start time and end time. I also have a publicly shared calendar I've created. I want my users to be able to click a link in the Change Mangagement record that will pass the subject, start/end time, etc. into a new event on that shared calendar.

Thanks for your help.