function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
HalHal 

Is there any way around the "CreatedDate" read only issue.

Hi folks,

I am very new to this (and in a hurry of course), so please forgive my newbie questions.  My company is converting to SalesForce.com and I am uploading the data, namely leads.  I started with the wizard (found it lacking) and then moved over to the API.  I have pretty much resolved all my issues, except for and issue around the inability to specify the "CreatedDate" value.  Many of the lead reports are driven off of the "CreatedDate".  I would like to specify the original "CreatedDate", except it will always be updated to the actual upload date.

The API documentation clearly states "The sforce Web service populates certain fields automatically, such as CreatedDate, CreatedById, LastModifiedDate, LastModifiedById, and SystemModstamp. You cannot explicitly specify these values."  So, it sounds like I am up a creek.  However, I thought I would ask the users of this forum before giving up.  So, is there a way to upload data and specify the CreatedDate?

Yes, I know I can create a custom field and upload the historical create data to that field. However, this creates many issues going forward that I would rather avoid.  So, can I specify the CreatedDate somehow, or is it completely hopeless?

Best Regards - Hal

benjasikbenjasik
It's on the roadmap as a feature request. Customers are also asking for the ability to load into the history tables. Please feel free to file a feature request so I can track your desire to get this feature in.

Thanks!
HalHal

Thanks for the quick reply.  Though it will probably not help me, it is nice to know that this feature is being considered for the future.  This leads me to the following questions:

1. Is the sforce roadmap published?  Where can I see it?