function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Mikey999Mikey999 

Copy field from Account to Opportunity (is a picklist)

I am not sure how to write this formula field (I am very new to this).  I have a field on the Acccount that is called National_Account_Status__c, this is a picklist with the following options:  None, Targeted, Current.  I need to just make an easy formula field to copy this field and the value over to the Opportunity.  What I did was create a field forumal named it and put int the formula Account.National_Account_Status__c, seems easy.  However I get the error that it is a picklist and I need to us ispickval.  I have used this in a formula field before but it was to calculate something.  I am not sure how to use it here.  

Again all I need is to copy this field over to the Opp.  One question though, if I create a new field with this formula field, will this work on Opporutnities that are already created or just new Opps? 

Thank you very much!

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
KT1KT1
You do not need the workflow rule. If you just create a Formula field, like I said before, it will update whenever the other field updates. Because it is a formula field it is always calculating.

All Answers

ronycronyc

Hi,

Please follow the steps below:

1. create a text field in Oppty where u want to store the picklist value from Account.

2. Create a workflow rule on opportunity where rule criteria is formula evaluaes to  true and put value as TRUE .

3. Click Save and next.

4. Add a work flow action as Field update and give some name, select the object as opportunity and field the one which u created where the value should be copied.

5. under specify new field value select use formula option.

6. Put the formula as VALUE(Account.National_Account_Status__c).