function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
DaveW_devDaveW_dev 

Using Apex Data Loader command line to connect to external db ( Sybase ASA)

Not sure if anyone has already posted this question or not, regarding accessing Sybase database.
I want to use the Apex Data Loader ( version 11.0 ) command line interface to get information
from a Sybase SQL Anywhere (ASA not ASE ) db and import it into salesforce. So far I've managed to
successfully import from a csv using the command line ( and the process-conf.xml ).
But to connect to my Sybase database I need to know which driver to use ( I'm new to java programming ).
I normally access our Sybase Database through ODBC not JDBC. So I am not familiar with what it will take
to access teh database through JDBC
What do I need to place in the ( database-conf.xml ) file for the "DriverClassName" and the "url"?
The example has the following for Oracle.
      class="org.apache.commons.dbcp.BasicDataSource"
      destroy-method="close">
    <property name="driverClassName" value="oracle.jdbc.driver.OracleDriver"/>
    <property name="url" value="jdbc:oracle:thin:@my.server.com:1521:dataBaseName"/>
    <property name="username" value="user"/>
    <property name="password" value="password"/>
Thanks in Advance,
Dave
DaveW_devDaveW_dev

I am now able to get connected to my ASA database using the following settings in the database-conf.xml file:

<property name="driverClassName" value="sun.jdbc.odbc.JdbcOdbcDriver"/>

<property name="url" value="jdbc:ODBC:XYZ_STAGING"/>

My new issue now that I gettconnected is that correct number of records are getting written to my database table using the databasewrite access type, but all data i swritten as NULLS.  I see the propere data in the sfdcSoapTrace.log.

The followin is the sql from the database-conf.xml file: