function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
AngiemeAngieme 

Apex trigger on a Date

Help! I'm new to Saleforce and Apex. I just had something happen in our production and I have no control over it. I need to know how to create a trigger based on a date.

Our company launched a Trial Version of a product, the user fills out the form and the Lead goes into Salesforce. I created a field that adds 'x' days onto the create date and that is the expired date calculated field. The indicator = "Y" and when the expired date is reached I want to change Indicator to "N".  All fields (expired date field, and Indicator field) are in Leads.

I don't have time to search all blogs and find the answer. I have never created a trigger before. I created a workflow, but this only seems to work when the record is created or edited, I need something that knows what day it is and then changes the indicator field.

Can anyone help?
mikefmikef
is the Indicator field a formula field?

If so you can build it into that, then "Y" or "N" will display at run time.

A trigger only fires on insert or update.
AngiemeAngieme
       The indicator field is not a formula field. I actually want an e-mail to get sent out to the customer when their trial expire date reaches a certain point. So if now()>Expire date then send auto-email to user

Is this even possible? If a trigger can only be done at insert or update, this won't work...

Any ideas what will?

The Expire date = 16 days + Create Date. When Today()>=Expire date launch e-mail to user with a certain template...

Thanks!
mikefmikef
deleting after re-reading your issue, time trigger might solve this.

Message Edited by mikef on 05-20-2008 05:01 PM
mikefmikef
I did some looking and a Time Trigger might work.

You can have an event fire using a static time, like an email.