function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
pradsy90pradsy90 

Debugging Validations

Hi -

Is there a way to debug our code. I have a validation which passed the syntax test but it not giving me the right result.

I would like to know what values are being passed to the rule and how it is interpreting them.

So, is there a way to debug this validation during runtime? I am new to Force.Com and am finding my way through this stuff.

Such tools are commonly available in Eclipse IDE, Visual Studio. Just wondering.

Any help is appreciated and thanks for your time.

Regards,

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
Alok_NagarroAlok_Nagarro

Hi,

You can use debug log to debug your code. Goto Setup--> Administration Setup--> Monitoring-->Debug logs--> Click on New Button ---> click on lookup icon--> select logged in user from list -->click save.

Now execute your code and go to that debug log page, you would find a entry log entry against your execution. Now click on view link--> here you can view all details of execution.

All Answers

Alok_NagarroAlok_Nagarro

Hi,

You can use debug log to debug your code. Goto Setup--> Administration Setup--> Monitoring-->Debug logs--> Click on New Button ---> click on lookup icon--> select logged in user from list -->click save.

Now execute your code and go to that debug log page, you would find a entry log entry against your execution. Now click on view link--> here you can view all details of execution.

This was selected as the best answer
Shukla_AnkitShukla_Ankit

Hi,

For debugging validations code you have to go in 'System Debug (Developer Console ) or  Debug Logs'.

1 - For System Debug (Developer Console ) go to Name-->System Debug (Developer Console )

2 - For Debug Logs go to name--->setup--->Administration Setup--->Monitoring--->Debug Logs

pradsy90pradsy90

Alok -