function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
mpolimpoli 

Why isn't my variable being incremented?

Hi, I'm completely new to developing in Apex and Visualforce, so please bear with my elementary question.

I have a simple repeat block in my Visualforce page:

<apex:repeat value="{!stagesStrLst}" var="eachstage" id="theRepeat">
      {!curStageNum} {!eachstage} {!stageStr}

<br/>
</apex:repeat>

'stagesStrLst' is a String list obtained from a SOQL query in my Apex code (8 elements in the list).

'stageStr' is a String variable with the following get method:

get
{
   String blockStr;
   blockStr = '<div class="workarea"> ';
   blockStr += '<h3>' + curStage + '</h3>';
   blockStr += ' </div>';

System.debug(curStageNum);

curStageNum++;

System.debug(curStageNum);

return blockStr;   
}

'curStage' simply returns the element of 'stagesStrLst' of index 'curStageNum', which is set to 0 in the controller's constructor. Every time stageStr's get method is called, it should increment curStageNum.

In other words, what I think it should output on my Visualforce page is

0 a a

1 b b

2 c c

3 d d

4 e e

5 f f

6 g g

7 h h

where a, b... are the string elements in the list.

However, I instead get

0 a a

0 b a

0 c a

0 d a

0 e a

0 f a

0 g a

0 h a

It's looping through stagesStrLst just fine, but it seems curStageNum is never being incremented properly. In fact, the system log shows that the debug statements I inserted only output once (though the second debug statement reveals that curStageNum did indeed get incremented to 1, but that's never shown in the Visualforce page).