function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
SBforVSBforV 

Need help writing formula to display Week number, based on Date

I am a bit of a beginner at formulas, so hopefully one of you will think this is easy, and be able to help. :-)

Customer requirement:

Create a formula field that displays the Week Number (as Week 1, Week 2, etc), based on the Date entered on a particular record (same object).

Ex: 01/01/09 - 01/04/09 would return a value of "Week 1"  

01/05/09 - 01/11/09 = Week 2

01/12/09 - 01/18/09 = Week 3

and so on.....

Is using the CASE function the way to go, and if so, what's the shortest way to create this formula?

Thank you in advance!

S

JakesterJakester

Went to online help, typed "week" and the 4th result gives you what you need:

This formula calculates today’s day of the week as a number (0 = Sunday, 1 = Monday, 2 = Tuesday, and so on).

MOD(TODAY() - DATE(1900, 1, 7), 7)

Similarly, this formula substitutes the TODAY() function shown in the previous example with a custom date field called Sign Up Date. It returns the day of the week as a number for that field.

MOD(Sign_Up_Date__c - DATE(1900, 1, 7), 7)

SBforVSBforV

Thanks for trying to help, but I don't need day of the week, but Week.

They've got about 54 defined weeks in their custom fiscal calendar (for FY2009), and I they need to be able to report by those.

JakesterJakester

Oops! You're right - my mistake.

thuskerthusker

I'm terrible with formulas, but I get a ton of help here.  This is one that I use to give me a "Month Lead Created" for marketing to use in reports.  Not sure if you can swap out Month for Day and then provide appropriate values like 1,"Week 1" etc.  But thought I'd post it to see if it helped. 

CASE(MONTH(datevalue(CreatedDate)) ,
1, "January",
2, "February",
3, "March",
4, "April",
5, "May",
6, "June",
7, "July",