function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Kyle_at_boxKyle_at_box 

Field value mapping (Trouble with Apex code; too many soql queries)

Hi All,

I'm relatively new to writing in Apex, so forgive me if it looks like I'm making rookie mistakes - I probably am making rookie mistakes :)

Myself and a colleague are trying to perform a cleanup of some old data.  We have a field called "Lead Source," which is a picklist with around 8 or so values.  The powers that be have come up with 7 or so different values that make more sense than the initial 8, so our task is to map the old values to their respective new ones.  Altogether, there are around 40,000 records that need to be adjusted.  

We've decided to approach this by writing a simple apex class in our sandbox:

public class leadSourceMap {
    public VFConnect(ApexPages.StandardController controller) { }
        public static void changeSource(){
        Account[] acclist = [SELECT Id,Lead_Source__c FROM account WHERE account.Lead_Source__c =  'Direct'];
        for(account a:acclist){
        if (a.Lead_Source__c == 'Direct') {
         a.Lead_Source__c = 'Rep Needs To Ask';
         }
         try { update a; } catch ( System.DmlException e) {

system.assert(e.getMessage().contains('irst error: FIELD_CUSTOM_VALIDATION_EXCEPTION, A lead with this email address already exists'),
                e.getMessage());   

}
    }

}
}

We couldn't figure out how to make this run, so we decided to build a simple visualforce page that just called the changesource method when any account was accessed:

<apex:page standardController="Account"
 extensions="VFConnect"
 action="{!changeSource}"
>
  <apex:sectionHeader title="Auto-Running Apex Code"/>
  <apex:outputPanel >
      You tried calling Apex Code from a button.  If you see this page, something went wrong.  You should have