function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
RossGilbertRossGilbert 

apex trigger that creates a new record

OK so I've been an admin for about 3 years and (for better or worse) know more about SF than anyone in my company.  i have some experience with apex and Visualforce, but little with triggers.

what i need is to write a trigger in production that does this:  the trigger should create a new record in a custom object called "Vehicles" when an Opportunity record is created with a specific value in one of its custom fields (the field is called "Type").  So, when an opp is created and saved with Type = "x", then the trigger should fire, and a new vehicle object record should be created that is populated with a few fields from that opportunity record.

can anyone send me some code to show me what this trigger should be or look like?  I've been researching this but have no clue, and I'm afraid of writing bad code that will cause problems.

also, the custom object is not in a parent-child relationship with the opporuntiy object, and i don't want it to be unless it has to be.

i know the developers in here are ridiculously smart and talented, and i'm just hoping one of you feels sorry enough for an amateur like me to help me out.  thanks a lot.

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
orikkerorikker

That works for me.  I guess I could have thought of that. You should just register a new dev org, so we can collaborate there and then just abandon it :)  I'll shoot you a private message with my info. Please mark this post as solved (i think it is ) :)

All Answers

joshbirkjoshbirk

Have you seen the workbook chapter on triggers?

http://www.salesforce.com/us/developer/docs/workbook/Content/apex_intro.htm

orikkerorikker