function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
KMKKMK 

Apex code to create(add) custom fields to the object dynamically using Metadata API.

Hi All,

I am new to Saleforce development. Please can any one guide me to sample apex code to create(add) custom fields to custom or standard objects dynamically using Salesforce Metadata API in my development org.

Thanks in advance.

bob_buzzardbob_buzzard

You can't access the metadata API via Apex, I'm afraid.  Its a web service API used by external clients.

KMKKMK

Hi Bob, thanks for your response.

Can I use Metadata API in my Apex ?

or Is there any way to add customer fields to objects dynamically by programmatic with apex code using metadata API, with out using external clients

bob_buzzardbob_buzzard

Unfortunately the answer is no to both of these.  I can't find much in the way of ideas regarding this either.

KMKKMK

Hi Bob,

I just now started reading about Apex Callouts from the force.com Documentation. This seems to be a way to access external web services. There is an example describing how to use Amazon's Webservices after we get the WSDL from Amazon. 

Now my doubt is, can't I Use the Metadata API WSDL to generate Apex classes and then consume the web services in my Apex. If I cannot, what is the difference between the Metadata API WSDL and other External Web services WSDL. 

Thank you for your responce.

bob_buzzardbob_buzzard

You can't callout to any Salesforce web services from within Salesforce.  You can only callout to external web services.

AsterAster

Hi,

I understand that we cannot create objects/fields in SFDC either through programatic means using APEX or by using APIs in APEX code.

Is there an alternate means to create objects or fields in SFDC using APEX?

Aster

sreenathsreenath

Hi All,