function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
NANCY1NANCY1 

How to update all child records??

Hi,

I have a master detail relationship between Opportunity( as master) and Custom object (as detail).

I want to update all the detail records, if i change / update any detail record. I mean all the detail records should contain same value. If i am changing any record, that should get changed other detail records as well..

trigger updateallRequisitions on Opportunity (after update) {
    List < Id > OppsIds = new List < Id >();
    List < Id > RRIds = new List < Id >();
    for(Opportunity rem: Trigger.New) {    
        if(rem.test__c != 'Closed'){    
           List<RR__c> proObj = [select p.Id,p.Bill_Rate__c from RR__c p where p.Opportunity__c =:rem.Id];
           if(proObj.size() > 0){
               for(RR__c pc: proObj ){
                   pc.Bill_Rate__c = rem.test__c ;
                   update pc;
               }
           }          
        }      
    }
}

Thanks

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
Jake GmerekJake Gmerek

I thought that the current validation would take care of that but I was wrong, sorry about that.  I will explicitly exclude the calling record and that should take care of the problem.  Here is the code:

}

trigger setValue on RR__c (before update)
{
  List<ID> OppIDs = new List<ID>();
  Boolean needsUpdate = FALSE; 
    for (RR__c RRs: trigger.new)
    {
    OppIDs.add(RRs.Opportunity__c);
    }
    List<RR__c> otherRR = new List<RR__c>([select id, Bill_Rate__c,Opportunity__c from RR__c where Opportunity__c in: OppIDs]);
    {
    for (integer i=1; i < otherRR.size(); i++)
     {
        if ((otherRR[i].Opportunity__c == RRs.Opportunity__c) && (otherRR[i].Bill_Rate__c != RRs.Bill_Rate__c)  && (otherRR[i].id != RRs.id))
        {