function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Markey1Markey1 

Trigger Help Needed - Update Child field based on update to Parent record

Hi, I'm fairly new to Triggers and am hoping someone can give me a bit of direction.

I want a custom field "Record_Mode__c" on Child Object B to be updated to value "Edit" when Parent Object A's custom field "Status__c" is updated to "Open". Basically, any time the parent record's status changes, I want the child record's Record Mode field to be updated accordingly.

The Record Mode change will then drive workflow that will flip record types and page layouts. I prefer to use out of the box solutions, but I cannot use cross object workflows as there is no master detail relationship between Parent Object A and Child Object B.

Any assistance with code or alternate solutions are much appreciated! 

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
vishal@forcevishal@force

As you correctly stated that Workflows will not serve your purpose here, here is a code example for you:

I want a custom field "Record_Mode__c" on Child Object B to be updated to value "Edit" when Parent Object A's custom field "Status__c" is updated to "Open". Basically, any time the parent record's status changes, I want the child record's Record Mode field to be updated accordingly.

trigger tgrA on A__c (after insert, after update){

// 1
		List<B__c> childRecords = [Select A__c, Record_Mode__c FROM B__c WHERE A__c IN Trigger.newMap.keySet()];

// 2
		for(B__c child :childRecords){
			// 3
			if(trigger.isInsert && child.Status__c == 'Open'){
				child.Record_Mode__c = 'Edit';
			}
			// 4
			else if(trigger.isUpdate && child.Status == 'Open' && trigger.NewMap.get(child.A__c).Status__c != trigger.OldMap.get(child.A__c).Status__c){
			}
		}

// 5
		if(childRecords.size() > 0)
			update childRecords;
}