function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
AnetaAneta 

Trigger on Attachments

Hello,

I'm brand new to development and triggers and I'm seeking some help in modifying the below simple trigger.

This is a trigger on the Attachemnt object that checks to count the number of attachments. If more than one then it flags a checkbox Attachment_Added__c on a custom object - Proposal. It works fine, but i would like to change it so that when the attachment is deleted and there are no attachments under the Proposal object then the checkbox on the proposal get cleared. Can someone please help?

Thank you in advance!

My current trigger:

// Trigger to update the Attachment__c custom checkbox field in Custom Object(Custom_Obj__c) if it has any attachment.
trigger CountAttachments on Attachment (after insert) 
{          
List<Proposal__c> co = [select id, Attachment_Added__c from Proposal__c where id =: Trigger.New[0].ParentId];          
If(co.size()>0)          
{              
co[0].Attachment_Added__c = True;              
update co;          
} 
}

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
ashishkrashishkr

before delete is all you need, all you need is "before delete"

trigger CountAttachments on Attachment (after insert, before delete) 
{  

if(trigger.isinsert){        
List<Proposal__c> co = [select id, Attachment_Added__c from Proposal__c where id =: Trigger.New[0].ParentId];          
If(co.size()>0)          
{              
update co;          
} 

}

if(trigger.isdelete){

List<Proposal__c> co = [select id, Attachment_Added__c from Proposal__c where id =: Trigger.old[0].ParentId];          
If(co.size()>0)          
{              
co[0].Attachment_Added__c = false;              
update co;          
} 

}
}