function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
ChickenOrBeefChickenOrBeef 

Trigger for creating junction object record depending on lookup field selection

We have three lookup fields on our Account page to a custom object we created called 'Partners':

Email_Provider__c

Social_Media_Management__c

Facebook_Ad_Platform__c

We also have a junction object called 'Account/Partner Relationship' that includes a lookup field to Accounts and a lookup field to Partners.

Basically, if someone populates one of those three look-up fields I listed at the top, we want a new Account/Partner Relationship record to be created with the Account being populated in the account look-up field and partner chosen in the partner look-up field.

I'm assuming We need a trigger to do this, but I have zero experience with APEX code. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Let me know if you need more information from me.

Thanks!

Satish_SFDCSatish_SFDC

Yes, this can be done using a trigger. But what if there is an update and the user changes the existing value of any of the lookup fields. Do you want the Account/Partner Relationship record to be deleted and a new one created based on the new lookup value?

What if the lookup value is simply removed. Do you want the Account/Partner Relationship record to be deleted as well.

Regards,

Satish Kumar

Hey Satish,

For the first scenario, I would like the old record to be deleted and a new record to be created.

For the second scenario, I would like the record to be deleted.

Let me know if you need anymore info! Thanks.
rbansalrbansal

trigger trigAccount_afterinsert on Account (after insert) {
for (Account a : Trigger.new) {

if(Email_Provider__c != null)
{
Account_Parent_Relationship obj = new Account_Parent_Relationship();
obj.PartnerId= a.Email_Provider__c;
obj.AccountId= a.Id;
insert obj;
}