function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
PanchoPancho 

Trigger help

Hi Guys,

I am new to writing triggers.

I have an object called Store_Visits__c and one called Field_Check_In__c.

In the case that there exists a Field_Check_In__c with the same Owner, Date and StoreID as a Store_Visit__c Owner, Date and StoreID, i want to set Store_Visit.Related_Check_In to the Check_In__c.id.

Here is what I have so far:

trigger CheckInTrigger on Store_visit__c (after insert, after update) {

//Find all Field_Check_Ins where owner,date, and storeId matches Store_visit__c owner, date and storeId
List<Field_Check_In__c> cis = [SELECT Id FROM Field_Check_In__c WHERE (CheckIn_Date__c IN : Trigger.new.Actual_Date_of_Visit__c ) AND ( Retail_Store__c IN : Trigger.new.Retail_Store_Visited_del__c ) AND (Owner IN : Trigger.new.Owner)];

//Loop through related CheckIns and set Store_visit__c.
    	 for ( Field_Check_In__c c: cis){
				Trigger.new.Related_Field_Check_In__c = c.Id;
				update c;
    	 	}
}

The error I am getting is "Initial term of field expression must be concrete SObject: List<Store_visit__c>

Any ideas?

Devender MDevender M

//Find all Field_Check_Ins where owner,date, and storeId matches Store_visit__c owner, date and storeId
List<Field_Check_In__c> cis = [SELECT Id FROM Field_Check_In__c WHERE (CheckIn_Date__c IN : Trigger.new.Actual_Date_of_Visit__c ) AND ( Retail_Store__c IN : Trigger.new.Retail_Store_Visited_del__c ) AND (Owner IN : Trigger.new.Owner)];
 List<Field_Check_In__c> cisToUpdate = new    List<Field_Check_In__c>();
               //Trigger.new.Related_Field_Check_In__c = c.Id; you cannot directly update trigger instance

//  update cc; dont write update in for loop

Field_Check_In__c cc = new Field_Check_In__c(Id = c.id, Related_Field_Check_In__c = c.Id);

cisToUpdate.add(cc);

}

update cisToUpdate;
}