function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
ClintLeeClintLee 

Test Method for Custom Controller

Hi, 

I am fairly new to Apex development and programming in general.  My particular issue is that I am having trouble creating a test method for a custom controller.  I have a VF page with a simple form for submitting cases, and a custom controller to handle it.  I've deployed the VF page and controller to my developement org and everything works properly.  Now I want to deploy it to production but need test coverage.  

I have read through the Apex Developer's Guide and countless forum postings on developing test methods but I am still stumped.  

Below is the VF page, Custom Controller class, and my current (inadequate) test method.

VF Page: simple case submit form

<apex:page controller="SubmitCaseController"> <h1>Submit New Case</h1> <apex:form > <apex:pageMessages /> <table> <tr> <th>Your Name:</th> <td><apex:inputText value="{!c.SuppliedName}"/></td> </tr> <tr> <th>Your Email:</th> <td><apex:inputText value="{!c.SuppliedEmail}"/></td> </tr> <tr> <th>Your Account Number:</th> <td><apex:inputText required="true" value="{!acctNum}"/></td> </tr> <tr> <th>Title:</th> <td><apex:inputText required="true" value="{!c.Subject}"/></td> </tr> <tr> <th>Your Problem:</th> <td><apex:inputTextArea required="true" rows="5" value="{!c.Description}"/></td> </tr> <tr> <td><apex:commandButton value="Submit Case" action="{!submitCase}"/></td> </tr> </table> </apex:form></apex:page>

Custom Controller: The general functionality is to use the acctnum field to match an existing account.  Then, find the appropriate contact by matching the account and email address.  Then insert the case.