function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
nickwick76nickwick76 

Setters don't work but getters do - Problem getting the inputfield value to the extension class

Hi,

I am a beginner to Salesforce development.

By default, from the Partner related list on the Opportunity, you can create OpportunityPartner junction objects between an Opportunity and a Partner Account. We want to modify this page. Unfortunately this object is not very easy to customize.

We have come up with a solution that works for us though.

I am going to create a Visualforce page with standardController 'Opportunity' and with an extension class.

The Visualforce page should be built up to look similar to the current Partner Edit page. 

So we are going to have five rows of partners where you can choose if its primary or not, the AccountToId and the Role. You don't have to fill in information on all rows.

I am not at all done with this yet and many things are not working as I would like them too (the radio buttons for instance). But currently I am stuck with the problem that the getters for the partner variables work but the setters does not. In other words I know that the getPartner methods have been run since I have seen this in the debug logs. The setters are never run though and this becomes obvious and also a problem when I try to insert one of the defined partners in the save method . I get an error that the field 'AccountToId' is a required field and should have a value:

Insert failed. First exception on row 0; first error: REQUIRED_FIELD_MISSING, Required fields are missing: [AccountToId]: [AccountToId]

Furthermore as you can see I have chosen to use the Partner object since I am not allowed to create OpportunityPartner objects. But when a Partner object gets created an OpportunityPartner object also does so that shouldn't be a problem.