function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
SCWells72SCWells72 

Two questions about custom components: nesting and sharing controllers

Hi, I'm relatively new to the Force.com platform but am finding it very interesting.  I'm in the process of exploring a reusable integration between jqGrid and VisualForce through custom components.  I have an early version working now but I have two issues that I'd like to resolve:

Nested custom components

I can't figure out how to have two VisualForce custom components have a nesting relationship, for example, like pageBlockTable and column where the  former sets up some outer context through its value and var attributes and the latter can refer to those, presumably through a shared controller?  I know that you can give a custom component an ID and then refer to that component by ID from other components, but that seems like a cumbersome way to couple reusable components.  What I'd like to have in the end is something like:

<c:jqGrid id="productsTable" sObjectTypeName="Product2" pageSize="10" pageSizes="10,25,50" height="250">

<c:jqGridColumn name="Name" width="75"/>

<c:jqGridColumn name="ProductCode" width="75"/>

<c:jqGridColumn name="Family" width="150"/>

</c:jqGrid>

But I can't figure out how to give jqGridColumn the context established by jqGrid, both in terms of its attributes and the state of its controller.  Any hints on how to do this?  

Shared controllers

I'm using JSON to provide a data model for jqGrid.  To do so I have the following artifacts (and would add another custom component if I can get a solid answer for the question above):

• jqGrid.component - A custom component that creates the JavaScript and HTML for the jqGrid based on its attributes.