function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
GudachariGudachari 

Functionality Of SOQL And SOSL

Hi my name is Amar and i am very new to Salesforce and as well as SOQL and SOSL languages.

I have a doubt regarding the inner functionality of SOSL. Here is the point i created an Account, i gave a Account Name like "Sonia and" with out double quotes and also i gave Account Number like "and" in the same record. 

I opend Apex Explorer in that i opened SOSL tab and i am trying to search a record "Sonia and and and" here Sonia and is Account name. "and" this one is a operator(Marked as red in a search string). and the last "and" is Account Number. So when i click Send Request in SOSL tab it gave result.

Here my problem is how the salesforce will treat and operator. Here i have three "and" words. In these three how the salesforce detect which one is operator and which one is normal word...?

Can anybody gave a solution for this one. If any link is there please provide those links..

Thanx In Advance..

Thanks & Regards

Amar

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
bob_buzzardbob_buzzard

Salesforce won't see any of those ands as an operator, because they are enclosed in double quotes, which means an exact phrase match.  To search for the word and, you would surround that in double quotes to ensure that it is not interpreted as an operator

If you wanted to search for records containing the phrase 'Sonia and' and the phrase 'and', you would use:

find ' "Sonia and" and "and" '...

There's full detail on the SOSL find query in the Web Services API Guide at:

http://www.salesforce.com/us/developer/docs/api/Content/sforce_api_calls_sosl_find.htm

and in the Apex Developer's Guide in:

http://www.salesforce.com/us/developer/docs/apexcode/Content/langCon_apex_SOQL.htm

All Answers

bob_buzzardbob_buzzard