function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
hideawayguyhideawayguy 

standard controller getting the wrong id in email template from apex page

hi i'm pretty new to visualforce, i'm sure you'll be able to tell. i'm creating a visualforce email template and i need to pull in an apex page that pulls data from a custom object. the code from the apex page looks like this:

<apex:page standardController="Inquiry__c">
{!Inquiry__c.Name}
</apex:page>

that's being called into the visual force template with an apex include statement. 

i ge this error when trying to select the template when trying to send the actual email though:

error: Id value 00Y5000000HOTmg is not valid for the Inquiry__c standard controller

the relatedto field in the messaging block is as follows.

relatedToType="Inquiry__c"

it works when i'm not calling in the component and pulls data from the correct objects, but when  i call in the component that is trying to get at the same data, it throws the error. any ideas. thanks in advance!

ShahTheTrainerShahTheTrainer

Try this.And, mark this as SOLVED if it resolved..

<apex:page standardController="Inquiry__c" recordSetVar="Inquiries">
	<apex:pageBlock title="Emails">
		<apex:pageBlockSection>
			<apex:pageBlockTable value="{!Inquiries}" var="I">
				<apex:column value="{!I.Name}" />
			</apex:pageBlockTable>
		</apex:pageBlockSection>
	</apex:pageBlock>

All the best.

Don't forget  to mark this as SOLVED if it resolved.

hideawayguyhideawayguy

hi thank you for the reply. i've added the code you've suggested as follows:

<apex:page standardController="Inquiry__c" recordSetVar="Inquiries">
<apex:pageBlock title="Emails">
<apex:pageBlockSection>
<apex:pageBlockTable value="{!Inquiries}" var="I">
<apex:column value="{!I.Name}" />
</apex:pageBlockTable>
</apex:pageBlockSection>
</apex:pageBlock>