function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Markey1Markey1 

Site Menu Links to Refresh Body Component

Hello SF,

I am new to building SF Sites and have a few questions on design. I currently have a basic two-column design (header, left menu, body, footer). I am using components to populate the header, footer, and menu so I don't have to re-write the code for each page etc. Rather than creating separate pages, I would like to use components to populate the body as well, which will usually be a form.

My question: Using the left menu html links, what is the best way to populate data in the body of the page? I want a user to click a left-nav link and then have the body of the page populate with the correct component (i.e. form) info etc. I have looked everywhere and am unable to locate info on this use-case. I found brief examples of Ajax using "rerender" but I can not figure out how to integrate this with my setup (i.e. which code goes where).

My logic/concept may be completely wrong so suggestions, example code, or links to tutorials are much appreciated.

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
RyanGuestRyanGuest

Can you just use <apex:output link> for all of the links and then redirect to different pages, sharing the same template?

All Answers

RyanGuestRyanGuest

Take a look at using a Site Template. I think it will do what you want.

Markey1Markey1

Thank you for your reply Ryan. I am using a site template (code below) but am not able to figure out how to populate the body with different components. For example, a user clicks link "A" and the body shows "Form A".... a user click link "B" and the body shows "Form B". I'm trying to accomplish a dynamic site where components drive the body etc.

Site Template Code:

<apex:page showHeader="false" id="SiteTemplate" standardStylesheets="true">