function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Rosie WeaverRosie Weaver 

What are the capabilities of Email-to-Case?

Our cases will come in via a form on our website. Every case will therefor have the same "From" email address. Is it possible for Email-to-Case to extract the correct email from the body of the email? Can it extract other custom fields that are included in the email?

I am not a programmer, so we will have a consultant do this work for us. I just want to know if it's possible! Thank you.
Best Answer chosen by Rosie Weaver
ShashForceShashForce
Hi Rosie,

Email-to-Case can only get the "From" email address of the sender. It cannot process the body of the email to get the original person's email address. For that, you should use "Web To Case". Please see this: https://help.salesforce.com/apex/HTViewHelpDoc?id=setting_up_web-to-case.htm&language=en

If this answers your question, please mark this as the Best Answer for this post, so that others can benefit from this post.

Thanks,
Shashank

All Answers

ShashForceShashForce
Hi Rosie,

Email-to-Case can only get the "From" email address of the sender. It cannot process the body of the email to get the original person's email address. For that, you should use "Web To Case". Please see this: https://help.salesforce.com/apex/HTViewHelpDoc?id=setting_up_web-to-case.htm&language=en

If this answers your question, please mark this as the Best Answer for this post, so that others can benefit from this post.

Thanks,
Shashank
This was selected as the best answer
srlawr uksrlawr uk