function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Stéphanie ParkStéphanie Park 

How to update a multi-picklist on contact/lead based on a campaign field?

Hello,
I am a Salesforce admin with no development knowledge.

I would need some help with the following:

I am trying to update a multipicklist on lead/contact object after they become members of a campaign (of a certain record type). The campaign has a multipicklist with certains values and I want to add these values to the multipicklist of the lead/contact without deleting the values that were already stored in the field previously.

I'm not sure if that's clear... Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Many thanks.
JayantJayant
Would need a trigger most probably. Might not be possible using workflows as its actually Campaign Member that is being created here and I guess Campaign lookups on Contact and Lead are not changing. Correct me if I am wrong.
Stéphanie ParkStéphanie Park
The process is as follow:
A form on a webpage allows people to register to our event (=campaign). The campaign has attributes stored in multipicklists. When a new campaign member is created, we want to copy the attributes to the contact/lead associated with the campaign. We want to do an update of the MPL field on the contact/lead and not erase data already stored .

JayantJayant
This should require a trigger.
Multi-picklist values are stored in database as semi-colon (;) separated like PMI;IIBA;ScrumAlliance.