function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Jack Rose 1Jack Rose 1 

Apex class to add Data Categories to an Article field

Hi All, 

Looking for some help, I'm an Admin with no access to a developer. I am looking at creating an Apex Class to insert the data categories into a fields on knowledge articles. I have found the below details on how to achieve this. I'm unsure how I am able to do this with mapping a particular category group to a particular field, any suggestions?

In Salesforce, open the Developer Console (see Open the Developer Console).
Create a new Apex Class.
For this tutorial, you can name your class DataCategoryMgmt.
In your Apex Class, enter the following template:

public class DataCategoryMgmt {
  @InvocableMethod
    public static void updateArticleTypeForDataCategories(List<Id> articleTypeIds)
    {
        List<Knowledge__kav> lstArticleType = [SELECT Id, Title, Data_Categories__c FROM Knowledge__kav WHERE Id IN:articleTypeIds
                                                    AND PublishStatus = 'draft'];

List<Knowledge__DataCategorySelection> lstDC = [SELECT ParentId, DataCategoryName   FROM Knowledge__DataCategorySelection
                                                            WHERE ParentId IN:articleTypeIds];

Map<Id, String> datacategoryNameMap = new Map<Id, String>();

for(Knowledge__DataCategorySelection dcObj:lstDC)
        {  
            if(datacategoryNameMap.containsKey(dcObj.ParentId))
            {
                String str =  datacategoryNameMap.get(dcObj.ParentId);
                datacategoryNameMap.put(dcObj.ParentId, str + ';' + dcObj.DataCategoryName);
            }
            else
            {
                datacategoryNameMap.put(dcObj.ParentId, dcObj.DataCategoryName);
            }
        }

for(Knowledge__kav artObj:lstArticleType)
        {