function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Aaron M OlsonAaron M Olson 

Help understanding dev process with dx/vcs project structure

Hello,

I am working through to trying to understand dx.  I am not a sf developer but have some knowledge concerning it. 

We are running today bitbucket as our git repo.  We are not using it yet aside from daily backups of sorts.  Coding is being done strictly within the orgs themselves. 

We want to start using dx and our repo and refine our development process.  For me the part I am struggling the most with is our repo structure I think.  I have spent some time searching but have not found anything on this that helps me wrap my head around this. 

Our repo structure today is a listing of all metadatatypes and the files underneath it.  Class folder for example and all classes under it.  As part of dx it seems you create a project that includes the class folder and files within the force-app (I believe it was) folder.  Within this there a number of other folders and so on.  This structure is very different.  Are there folks in, or that were in a similar situation that married these 2 structures in some way and if so how did you do it? 

I believe we can do these conversions from one to the other and back but that sure seems like a lot of overhead. 

Also, I would love a better understanding of folks that are in a similar situation as we are, how did you go about starting to use dx and your vcs repo.  Another point I am struggling a bit with is so I spin up a scratch org and I am working on an issue with a few classes and workflows for example.  What is my process here in how I should work this with my git structure as I have it today?