function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Donna Whitig 34Donna Whitig 34 

Comparing new item being added to existing item in SObject

I'm new to coding and trying to write a test trigger in my dev org.  The trigger needs to fire before insert and compare the name of the course being inserted inot my custom object against the existing courses.  If there is a duplicate course being inserted, throw an error.  Here is what I have so far that is not working.  It gives an error that the comparison if statement of "Variable does not exist: Course_Name__c".  Can someone point me in a direction?

=======TRIGGER CODE+++++

trigger testtr1 on Course__c (before insert) {

Public static void CheckDuplicates(List<Course__c> newCourse){             

//Create a LIST of all existing courses
    List<Coures__c> ExistingCourses= [SELECT Id, Course_Name__c
                            FROM Course__c];

// Create a SET of all incoming  course names to evaluate
  Set<String> Courses = new Set<String>();
    for (Courses__c s : Trigger.new) {
      Courses.add(s.Course_Name__c);
    } /*end for loop */

//Compare SET values to LIST

for(Courses__c s : Trigger.new)
            if(
                ExistingCourses.Course_Name__c = s.Course_Name__c)
                s.addError('DUPLICATE COURSE NAME');

}  /* end ChecDuplicates method */
}   /*end triggger begin */

Best Answer chosen by Donna Whitig 34
Dushyant SonwarDushyant Sonwar
Hi Donna,

Below trigger will check for duplicate course Name and give an error for duplicate courses.
I have added comments to understand how the below trigger is working.
/*
Name : CourseTrigger
Description : Check duplicates for the Course Name
Date :  08-04-2018
*/
trigger CourseTrigger on Course__c (before insert) {

if(trigger.isInsert && trigger.isBefore){
		Set<String> setOfCourseNames = new Set<String>();