function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Cha YangCha Yang 

Apex Trigger to update a field

I'm new to apex trigger so bear with me. I have Account and a custom object (InvsetigationContact). On the custom object I created a text field call CheckID that I want to use it for duplicate checking. I want to create the Before Trigger to filling in with combine of First+last Name + ContactID from the Account. 

Not sure how to get started. Please help. 

Best Answer chosen by Cha Yang
Steven NsubugaSteven Nsubuga
My fault, here is the right trigger.
trigger DupCheckID on Investigation_Contact__c (Before insert, before update) {
	Set<Id> accountIds = new Set<Id>();
    for (Investigation_Contact__c ic : trigger.new){
        accountIds.add(ic.Client_Potential_Name__c);
	}

Map<Id, Account> accountsMap = new Map<Id, Account> ([SELECT Id, Salesforce_ID__pc FROM Account where Id IN :accountIds]);
		Account icAccount  = accountsMap.get(ic.Client_Potential_Name__c);
        ic.DupCheckID__c = icAccount.Salesforce_ID__pc + '-'+ic.Investigation_ID__c;
	}
}

All Answers

Is there a relationship between Account and InvsetigationContact?  Are these fields "First+last Name + ContactID" on Account or on InvsetigationContact? You need to provide more details on what exactly you are trying to do.
Neha AggrawalNeha Aggrawal
Hi Cha,

You can get started from this trailhead unit: https://trailhead.salesforce.com/en/modules/apex_triggers/units/apex_triggers_intro
Your requirement looks quite straightforward, so it should not be difficult. Give it a shot and if you face any issues, post the code here, so we can help. 
Thanks.

Cha YangCha Yang
@Steven Nsubuga Yes Account is a lookup field in the investigationContact object. As I said above first+lastname+contactid are on the Account object.