function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Patrick FoyPatrick Foy 

First trigger need help getting parent record id for custom object

I'm just learning APEX and I would appreciate it if someone would look this over. It is supposed to create a new work order line(child) once a button is clicked and updates a check box to = true on the parent. The work order line needs to have Product Code( formula uses product id based on current user, i hope), Status,Parent W/O ID, Start Time (Date and Time). Once I get this figured out I think I can easily program the trigger for the "check out" button.

For( OptimaPro__Work_Order_Line__c   newWorkOrderLine Trigger.new){
                  if (myVariable_current.Check_In__c = true) {
RecordTypeId = ‘01246000000Q2t9A’;
OptimaPro__MOBSVC_Start_Date_and_Time__c = datetime.now();
OptimaPro__MOBSVC_work_Order__c = // how do I get current parent record?//
 OptimaPro__MOBSVC_Line_Status__c = ‘Open’;   //pick list//

//next section picks product code.id based on current user//
IF($User.FirstName = "Cory"){ OptimaPro__MOBSVC_Product__c = '01t46000000nQVKAA2',
IF($User.FirstName = "Jim",){' OptimaPro__MOBSVC_Product__c = 01t46000000nRJFAA2';}
IF($User.FirstName = "Zach") {OptimaPro__MOBSVC_Product__c = '01t46000000nPA2AAM';}
Else [OptimaPro__MOBSVC_Product__c = '01t46000000nPO0AAM';}

}
}

Best Answer chosen by Patrick Foy
Patrick FoyPatrick Foy
Thanks for validating once again why I don't like this Q&A section. 90% of the time it is 0 help all you get is people telling you oh your doing it wrong but offer 0 information on how to do it right. This is really discouraging and a big issue with most of Salesforce. The people who know are pretentious and don't want to help the people who are learning. 

Avishek Nanda thank you for atleast trying to help me. 

All Answers

Patrick FoyPatrick Foy