function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Hazel LarotHazel Larot 

How do I use actionSupport in existing code to autofill City and State using my custom Zip Code object

I am trying to update an existing code in my org to do some zip code lookup. We have an existing visualforce page with a field that asks for a zip code. I want to convert this to a lookup field that returns a list of City and State combination (example: Boston, MA) matching the zip code in my zip code custom object (ZipCode__c) and populates the City and State fields when user selects the city/state combination.

I read that I can use actionSupport to do this. I have very little experience in apex/vf so I hope somebody can help with the code.

Here's my org's existing VF page code for zip code input:
<apex:pageBlockSectionItem > 
    PG Zip: <apex:inputtext value="{!PGZip}"/> 
</apex:pageBlockSectionItem>
In the controller, the PGZip and the city and state fields are declared/saved like below:
public String PGZip{get;set;} 
PG_ct.MailingPostalCode = PGZip; 
myPageCon.PGZip = '21345'; 

public String PGCity{get;set;} 
PG_ct.MailingCity = PGCity; 
myPageCon.PGCity = 'Boston'; 

public String PGState{get;set;} 
PG_ct.MailingState = PGState; 
myPageCon.ECState = 'MA';

Alastair PhippsAlastair Phipps
Hi Hazel,

I'm not sure I'm quite clear on your objective here. Do you want to have a single field 'City, State' and have that autofill three other fields 'City', 'State' and 'Zip'? Or do you want one field 'Zip' to then autofill two other fields 'City' and 'State'?

Either way you're going to need a massive Zip lookup somewhere. Do you already have that in your setup somewhere else?

A.
Hazel LarotHazel Larot
Hi Alastair,
Thanks for the reply.