function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Shawn Low 24Shawn Low 24 

Good Morning, My name is Shawn Low. I am just learning to read and write code for SFDC and I would like to ask for some help.

I am posting a Trigger that was written before I started at this company. Being new to coding, I dont fully understand what is happening in this trigger. I wanted to ask if someone could please break things down for me so I can "connect" what the code says and what action is happening.
I am hoping someone can use snagit or something like that, and box off each part of the code, and then type in the explaination of what that code is telling SFDC to so.
Thank you for all your help.
Here is the trigger code...

//=================================================================================================
// Company: TRI Pointe Group
//  Author: Matt Starr (EnablePath)
// Created: 07/22/2016   
// Comment: Task Trigger
//=================================================================================================
//          Date            Purpose
// Changes: 07/22/2016    Matt Starr (EnablePath) Created

trigger TaskTrigger on Task (after delete, after insert, after undelete, 
                                    after update, before delete, before insert, before update) {

//Trigger Handler
    TaskTriggerHandler handler = new TaskTriggerHandler();

//Before Insert
    if (Trigger.isBefore && Trigger.isInsert && !OpportunityTriggerHandler.onInsert) {
        handler.OnBeforeInsert(Trigger.new);
    }

//After Insert
    if (Trigger.isAfter && Trigger.isInsert && !OpportunityTriggerHandler.onInsert) {
        handler.OnAfterInsert(Trigger.new);
    }

//Before Update
    if (Trigger.isBefore && Trigger.isUpdate && !OpportunityTriggerHandler.onInsert) {
        handler.OnBeforeUpdate(Trigger.newMap,Trigger.oldMap);
    }