function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Louisa Pidcock 11Louisa Pidcock 11 

populate checkbox (after insert, after update) - please can anyone help me

Hi Guys 

I am very very new to coding of any kind so please forgive me/ thank you in advance.

Custom Object:  Buyer_Conact__c

I have a workflow rule that updates the due date if it falls on a weekend day. As 'Day__c'  is derived via DATE() function in a formula thisrule only kicks in if the record it edited, which falls short of what is required. 

I have added a checkbox called Weekend_Date_Handler__c which I would like to check after insert (as this will trigger the workflow) 

I am attempting to refactor a piece of code I sucessfully created (you guys then helped me with the test class) for a different purpose and am not getting very far at all. My what I want is for the code to look at any buyer_contact__c records that have Weekend_Date_Handler__c= False and update them to Weekend_Date_Handler__c = True 

Here is what I have written so far. Any guidance here is massively appreciated !

trigger weekendUpdate on Buyer_Contact__c (after insert, after update) {

List<Id> lstId = new List<Id>();    

for(Buyer_Contact__c buyerConTwo: Trigger.new){

List<Buyer_Contact__c> buyerConTwoList = [SELECT Id,Weekend_Date_Handler__c,  FROM Buyer_Contact__c WHERE Weekend_Date_Handler__c = FALSE] ;

buyerConTwo.Weekend_Date_Handler__c= TRUE

update buyerConTwoList;
    }
}

Manish  ChoudhariManish Choudhari
Hi Louisa,

It is not a good idea to update the record in "After Update" trigger. Use "Before Update" and "Before Insert" for this operation. Also you do not have to write the update statement ("update buyerConTwoList; ") as the code will automatically either insert or update the records (based on which trigger is executing)

Your code should look like below: