function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Support 3743Support 3743 

What do the components of apex:repeat mean and how do I write a Visual force email template?

Hi everyone, I'm a complete newbie to Apex and I'm recently writing an email template that sends out all of the opportunities related to a specific account name. However I don't fully understand what <apex:repeat> does.

In <apex:repeat var="op" value="{!relatedTo.Name}">, what does "var" refer to and what does "value" refer to? Does this create a loop that iterates through all of the records in relatedTo that have Name equal to value? 

Please help me with this! Thank you so much!

Best Answer chosen by Support 3743
Rahul.MishraRahul.Mishra
Hi,

You can assume that:  apex:repeat as a for loop in programming which iterates over the list of values (value="{!relatedTo.Name}", iterates over name coming from relatedTo list), var is same like loop veriable to iterate the list one by one, below is the simple example of iterating the list of account and printing the name of each account:

<apex:page standardController="Account" recordSetVar="accounts" tabstyle="account" sidebar="false">
    <apex:pageBlock >
          <apex:repeat value="{!accounts}" var="a">

"{!a.name}"

</apex:repeat>      
     </apex:pageBlock>
</apex:page>
In value="{!accounts}", accounts is a list of account record which we are iterating through a.

Mark solved if it does help you.

All Answers

Rahul.MishraRahul.Mishra
Hi,

You can assume that:  apex:repeat as a for loop in programming which iterates over the list of values (value="{!relatedTo.Name}", iterates over name coming from relatedTo list), var is same like loop veriable to iterate the list one by one, below is the simple example of iterating the list of account and printing the name of each account: