function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
IT Admin 179IT Admin 179 

SQL join problem + select statement problem

I was trying to do the join statment (on task,contact) , but it is not working, do you know how to fix it?
SELECT   Owner.Name, Task.WhoId FROM Task, contact where task.id = contact.id
Sorry I am new to SOSQL, does SOSQL let us do  join statement like  ... from x,y where x.id = y.id?

Also i can not do select statement from nested select like : select x  from (select x, y from z) as table1, does sosql allow this kind of query?

Thank you!
HARSHIL U PARIKHHARSHIL U PARIKH
Salesforce does allows query inside the query.
Here are few ways you can solve the puzzle,
Let's say you have a list of all contact Ids such as

List<Id> contactIds = New List<Id>();

Now there are two ways to do the above operation.
1) You can write a query on TASK Object and get the results
2) You can write a query on Contact Object and gets the results

1)
List<Task> allTasks = [Select Id, Owner.Name, WhoId FROM Task WHERE WhoId = : ContactIds];
This query will give you all the tasks who has their WhoId in ContactIds list.

2)
List<Contact> contactsWithTasks = [Select Id, FirstName, LastName, (Select Id, Owner.Name, WhoId FROM Tasks) FROM Contact WHERE Id = : contactIds];
This query would give you all the contact with their associated attached tasks infomation.

In addition, at a time one SOQL (Salesforce Object Query Language) can fetch up to 50,000 records.

Hope this helps and Mark it best answer if it help you solve the query
Raj VakatiRaj Vakati
SELECT   Owner.Name, Task.WhoId FROM Task where WhoId IN (Select Id from Contact)
IT Admin 179IT Admin 179
It seems like apex code, I do not have experience doing it, do you know the steps that run this code?

"