function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
pvandepvande 

Error: Compile Error: Variable does not exist

I am new to APEX coding and am struggling with the following error.  Any help would be apprecaited.
Error: Compile Error: Variable does not exist: Designated_Forecast_Account__c at line 5 column 1

My trigger:

trigger ForecastAccount on Opportunity (before insert, before update) {

if ( Project__r.Sponsor_Account__r.Forecast_Account__c  = True) {

Designated_Forecast_Account__c =  Sponsor_Account__r.Id ;

} else if

(  Project__r.Sponsor_Account__r.Forecast_Account__c  = False){

Designated_Forecast_Account__c = Sponsor_Account__r.Reporting_Parent__c ;
 }
}

Best Answer chosen by pvande
HARSHIL U PARIKHHARSHIL U PARIKH
I would suggest to take following path,

1) First make a formula field on Project__c object named "Forcast Account Checkbox" and it will simpley be checked when Forcast_Account__c is checked.
2) Now we are going to make a use of that field in trigger:
Trigger ForecastAccount on Opportunity (before insert, before update) 
{
    For(Opportunity Opp : Trigger.New)
    {
        If(Opp.Project__c != null)
        {

List<Opportunity> comingOppInfo = [Select Id, Designated_Forecast_Account__c, Project__r.Id, 
                                                                Project__r.Forcast_Account_Checkbox, Project__r.Sponser_Account__c, Project__r.Reporting_Parent__c
                                                                    FROM  Opportunity WHERE Id =:Opp.Id LIMIT 1];

If(comingOppInfo[0]. Project__r.Forcast_Account_Checkbox == TRUE)
            {
                comingOppInfo[0].Designated_Forecast_Account__c = comingOppInfo[0].Project__r.Sponser_Account__c;
            }

Else If(comingOppInfo[0]. Project__r.Forcast_Account_Checkbox == FALSE)
            {