function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Payal KamblePayal Kamble 

best way to auto populate a field based on elapsed date

Hello Everyone,
I am new to salesforce and need insights on how to approach the below problem:
I need to calculate a quarterly "Next" due date based on a give date field. For example, if the original date field is 10/4/16, then the next due date would be 1/2/17 (just adding 90 days). This needs to auto populate everytime(may be I can compare with today's date to do the next calculations)
There may not be any update on the record that would trigger this action.
What is the best way to do this? I looked at formula fields, but my problem is that the original date could be more than 365 day back, and I am not sure how to proceed with the calculations in that case. I looked at tiggers, but looks its executed based on record creation or updates.

Thank you in advance!
Best Answer chosen by Payal Kamble
Malni Chandrasekaran 2Malni Chandrasekaran 2
Payal,
Thought so... :)

Try this formula  - Replace SLAExpirationDate__c with your policy date.

IF(
MOD(((Year(Today()) - Year(SLAExpirationDate__c))   *  12 )+ (Month(Today()) - Month(SLAExpirationDate__c)), 3) = 0 && Day(Today()) < Day(SLAExpirationDate__c),

Date(Year(Today()), Month(Today()), Day(SLAExpirationDate__c)) ,

Date(
Year(Today()), 
Month(Today()) + 3 - MOD(((Year(Today()) - Year(SLAExpirationDate__c))   *  12 )+ (Month(Today()) - Month(SLAExpirationDate__c)), 3),  
Day(SLAExpirationDate__c)
)
)

All Answers

Payal,
I am trying to understand this part 'I looked at formula fields, but my problem is that the original date could be more than 365 day back, and I am not sure how to proceed with the calculations in that case.'