function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
jls_74_txjls_74_tx 

OnClick JavaScript - Multiple Rows - Single Child Record each Row

Warning: I'm a complete newbie to JavaScript.

I have a parent object floor_plan__c. I am trying to create a list button that will allow me to select multiple rows, and when clicked will create one child record on a custom object list__c for each of the floor_plan__c rows I have selected. The list__c object only requires two fields to be passed on: floor_plan__c.ID and floor_plan__c.renterID__c.

Problem #1: I can get the code below to work if I hard code the ID numbers. I don't know how to write a var statement to capture them dynamically.
Problem #2: No matter how many rows I click, only one child record is created for the first row I select.

I'm pretty sure this has something to do with an array? HELP!

Thank you in advance!
Jodi

{!REQUIRESCRIPT("/soap/ajax/33.0/connection.js")} 

//identify parent record
var floorplan = {!GETRECORDIDS($ObjectType.Floor_Plan__c)};
floorplan.id = "{!Floor_Plan__c.Id}";
floorplan.renter = "{!Floor_Plan__c.RenterID__c}";

//insert LIST Record
var list = new sforce.SObject("List__c");
list.Floor_Plan__c = floorplan.id;
list.Renter__c = floorplan.renter;
result = sforce.connection.create([list]);

var NewListID = result[0].id;
alert(NewListID);
Alain CabonAlain Cabon
Hi,

Could you try the code below? It is not the complete solution. I don't understand clearly what you expect.

var ids = {!GETRECORDIDS($ObjectType.Floor_Plan__c)}.toString().replace(/,/g , "','");   // Array of only Ids (selected records)
var result = sforce.connection.queryAll("Select RenterID__c, Id from Floor_Plan__c in ('"+ids+"')"; // get all the RenterID__c
var records = result.getArray("records");
for (var i=0; i<records.length; i++) {
  var record = records[i];