function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Jessica PuckettJessica Puckett 

Invalid bind expression type of Contact for column of type String

Hello all,
I'm working on an Apex trigger and am running into an issue I'm not sure how to resolve.  (I'm still quite new to Apex.)  I'm receiving the following problem on lines 2 and 3:  "Invalid bind expression type of Contact for column of type String"  Suggestions are greatly appreciated! 
My trigger code is below:

trigger EmailDuplicate on Contact (before insert, before update, before delete) {
    List<Contact> emaillist = [SELECT id,email FROM Contact WHERE Email!=null AND Email IN :trigger.new];
    List<Contact> existingcontact = [SELECT id, email,lastname FROM Contact WHERE email IN :emaillist AND id NOT IN :trigger.new];
    for(Contact current : emaillist){
        for(Contact existing : existingcontact){
            if(current.Email==existing.Email){
                current.duplicate_email__c=true;
            }
                else if (current.Email!=existing.Email){
                    current.duplicate_email__c=false;

update emaillist;
                }
            }
        }
    }

Raj VakatiRaj Vakati
Hi Jessey ,

Try like this 

trigger EmailDuplicate on Contact (before insert, before update, before delete) {

Set<String> emaillistSet = new Set<String>() ;
    for(Contact c: [Select id, Email from Contact where email !=null]){
        emaillistSet.add(c.email) ;
    }

List<Contact> emaillist = [SELECT id,email FROM Contact WHERE Email!=NULL AND Email IN : emaillistSet];

List<Contact> existingcontact = [SELECT id, email,lastname FROM Contact WHERE Email  IN :emaillistSet AND id NOT IN :trigger.newMap.keySet()];

for(Contact current : emaillist){
        for(Contact existing : existingcontact){
            if(current.Email==existing.Email){