function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Ram 1969Ram 1969 

Want parent picklist to update some of the child record picklist

Hi, 
I am newbie here and pretty new to SFDC. I would like to achieve following
1. On opportunity stage - when I select "Opp Lost" - I need it to auto change all records in related list (custom object) picklist field to "Opp Lost"
2. But if I select opportunity stage "Opp Won" - I need it to change the records to "Opp Won" that are currently "In Progress" stage. Any records that are selected "Opp Lost" are not changed.
FYI - In Opportunity stage - we have 7 stage including "Opp Lost" & "Opp Won" however in the related list custom object picklist field - we have 3 stages "Opp Won", "In Progress" & "Opp Lost" 
How can I achieve this? Coding is not an option since I am a rookie.
Thanks / Ram

Best Answer chosen by Ram 1969
Deepak Pandey 13Deepak Pandey 13
Yes sure .1stly you just write a trigger on Opportunity after update.
Please view this video it will help you- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ArxaE-CHnCM

All Answers

Ram 1969Ram 1969
A follow up question to above.
On the Opp page - I have "Opp Value" which is a formula field picking value from roll up summary. The roll up summary is aggregating "value" from custom object field
On every custom object record (as mentioned above) - I have 3 stages - "Opp Won", "In Progress" & "Opp Lost" & the user can also enter the "value" for each record. 
So now if a user changes the stage in custom object to "Opp Lost" - I would like "Opp Value" exclude the value of this record (so basically the roll up summary is aggregating the records that are either "Opp Won"or "In Progress"  
How can this be achieved? 

I think you can write a trigger on Opportunity which is closed then update it's related list.
Ram 1969Ram 1969