function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Leonard Silon 8Leonard Silon 8 

How to check a box if there is a specific attachment on a contact

On the contact if a user attaches a file ot the notes and attachments with a file name that begins with "Opt-Up Professional" that a check box named Opt-Up Attached gets checked. I have read enough to know a trigger is needed. However, I can not find anythign specific to my needs. Does anyone have code they can share with me - - please note while i can basically read code, I am not a developer. We also have no developer on site so any help would be greatly appreciated!!
Best Answer chosen by Leonard Silon 8
Pratima Shrivastav 3Pratima Shrivastav 3
I think you just updated your existing trigger to Attachment. Try creating a new trigger on Attachment object.

All Answers

Hi Leonard,
Something like this should help.
trigger attachmentInserted on Attachment (after insert, after delete) {
    Schema.DescribeSObjectResult  r = Contact.sObjectType.getDescribe();
    String keyPrefix = r.getKeyPrefix();

if(trigger.isInsert){
        for(Attachment att : trigger.New){
            if(keyPrefix == String.valueOf(att.ParentId).left(3)){
                Contact con =  [SELECT Id, Document_Attached__c from Contact WHERE Id = :att.ParentId LIMIT 1];
                con.Document_Attached__c = True;
                update con;
            }
        }
    }

}

It might not be following all the standards but it works. Also, you can add a if(trigger.isDelete) so that the checkbox gets unchecked if someone deletes the attachments.
Let me know if it helps.

Thank you
My bad. I didnt read your complete question. You are looking for the name of attachment.
Try this, added a check to see if the filename starts with Test, modify it accordingly.