function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
PriscillaO_PriscillaO_ 

trigger to create a note when lead status changes

I've never written an apex code before, could you please help me with writing one that triggers to create a note in the Leads page whenever the lead status is changed? This way the User won't be able to save the lead until they create a note about the status change. Thank you!
Best Answer chosen by PriscillaO_
Jain NileshJain Nilesh
Here's the code you can refer too :

I have assumed that your Sales Team would be Updating the title on Notes as the New Status, You will need to decide on the mechanism of Identifying Related notes with Status change and hence I have assumed you will be storing the Status in the title. Feel free to change the logic as per your requirement.

trigger leadStatusChange on Lead (before update) 
{
    leadStatusChangeHandler objHandler = new leadStatusChangeHandler();

if(Trigger.isUpdate && Trigger.isBefore)
        objHandler.validateStatus(Trigger.new, Trigger.oldMap);

}

public with sharing  class leadStatusChangeHandler
{
    public final String strAddError = 'Please Create a Note Record';
    public leadStatusChangeHandler(){
    }

public void validateStatus(List<Lead> newLeadList, Map<Id, Lead> oldLeadMap)
    {
        Map<String, String> mapLeadNotes = fetchNotes(newLeadList);
        for(Lead objLead : newLeadList)
        {
            if(oldLeadMap.get(objLead.Id).Status != objLead.Status)
            {
                if(mapLeadNotes == null || !mapLeadNotes.containsKey(objLead.Id) || !mapLeadNotes.get(objLead.Id).containsIgnoreCase(objLead.Status))
                    objLead.addError(strAddError);
            }
        }
    }

public Map<String, String> fetchNotes(List<Lead> newLeadList)
    {
        Map<String, String> mapNotes = new Map<String, String>();